fbpx

Early renewal of your mortgage

Your mortgage is due in a few months. Your current rate for a five-year term is 3.39%. Your financial institution offers you to renew early, four months before maturity, at the rate of 3.09% for a new five-year term.

Is it a good idea?

The answer is no.

Here's why: 

  • The rate currently offered could decrease again during the few months preceding the actual renewal date and your loan having been renewed early, you will not be able to benefit from this decrease.
  • The chances that the mortgage rate offered at the end of this new five-year term will be higher than the current rate of your loan are probable, which means that you will lose the benefit of a rate of 3.39%. for a few months.
  • You should also pay attention to the month of the year for your renewal. Banks are often more competitive and inclined to offer discounts during shopping time between January and August.

The solution: 

  • Contact your mortgage broker four months before the renewal date. The latter is able to reserve your rate for a period of 120 days, in this way your rate will not be able to increase and your broker will follow the market in order to make it decrease if necessary and in the event of an increase, you will be protected 😉

Would you like to have advice adapted to your situation?

Share

EN

fbpx

Renouvellement anticipé de votre hypothèque

Votre prêt hypothécaire arrive à échéance dans quelques mois. Votre taux actuel pour un terme de cinq ans est de 3,39 %. Votre institution financière vous offre de renouveler par anticipation, quatre mois avant l’échéance, au taux de 3,09 % pour un nouveau terme de cinq ans.

Est-ce une bonne idée?

La réponse est non.

Voici pourquoi: 

  • Le taux actuellement offert pourrait réduire à nouveau durant les quelques mois précédant la date réelle du renouvellement et votre prêt ayant été renouvelé par anticipation, vous ne pourrez bénéficier de cette baisse.
  • Les chances que le taux hypothécaire offert à l’échéance de ce nouveau terme de cinq ans soit plus élevé que le taux actuel de votre prêt sont probables, ce qui fait en sorte que vous perdrez le bénéfice d’un taux de 3,39 % pour quelques mois.
  • Il faut aussi faire attention au mois de l’année pour votre renouvellement. Les banques sont souvent plus en compétition et enclin à offrir des rabais durant le temps des achats entre janvier et août.

La solution: 

  • Contactez votre courtier hypothécaire quatre mois avant la date de renouvellement. Ce dernier est en mesure de réserver votre taux pour une période de 120 jours, de cette façon votre taux ne pourra augmenter et votre courtier suivra le marché afin de le faire diminuer s’il y a lieu et advenant une hausse, vous serez protégé 😉

Vous aimeriez avoir des conseils adaptés à votre situation?

Partager:

FR